“New (Old) Year Updates: Everything’s Bigger in Texas” or “Oh man, I totally forgot Tribe One even HAD a blog…”

HOLY SMOKES, YOU GUYS. I’M GOING TO SOUTH BY SOUTHWEST.

Your friend and mine, Mikal kHill, has been gracious enough to temporarily adopt me as his third child for SXSW this year in Austin, Texas. I’ll be hyping his set during the nerdcore showcase on Tuesday, March 12th and possibly doing a set of my own on Thursday, March 14th. I’ve never been to Texas except to drive through it on my way from California to Atlanta, so I’m very much looking forward to taking in the sights and culture of the Lone Star State. And by that I mean eat my body weight in bbq and rock out to amazing live music from all over. Be sure to say hello if you see me wandering around looking lost!

The week before that, however, I’m going to be back up in Columbia, SC at Conundrum Music Hall (or as my good friend cecilnick prefers to call it, “The Conundrum) with Mega Ran and Louis Logic. So yeah, that’s gonna be Rad. As. [Expletive].

In other news, the good homey Jesse Dangerously and I have teamed up to form the boy band Maximum Rap Whirlwind and entered ourselves in the nerdcorenow.com Vocalist/Producer Challenge. The competition this year is cray cray, and I do not use that term lightly. The first round just ended (we made the top 10 out of 53 entries!) and the second round has just gotten underway. Check out all the submissions for round one here!

Finally, I already kind of announced this on facebook, but everyone knows things don’t get officially official until they’re blogged for the world to see… I’ve been working on a full length album with Rocky O’Reilly (formerly of Oppenheimer) and we’re rounding the bend on finishing this thing. We’re calling our collaboration Malibu Shark Attack and I can guarantee you it’s every bit as awesome as that name sounds. If you happened to catch me performing any time from Nerdapalooza or the NOFRIENDS Tour or later then you’ve already had a bit of a preview (hint: the song I opened with, “Moment of Truth” is a Malibu Shark Attack song).

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. Gotta get back to writing raps. See you soon, I hope!

raprapraprapraprapraprapraprapraprapraprap.

About Tribe One

I am a professional independent rapper who writes songs about the important things in life: comics, video games and giant monsters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

